As a kid I was always disappointed that I only got to drink eggnog at Christmas. I loved it’s rich, thick comfort. The nutmeggy magic always made Christmas Eve so much more special. Perhaps it is the “limited time only” quality of eggnog that makes it such an experiential beverage at such a rich, meaningful, calorie-laden time of year… Regardless, I always thought the annual debut of the carol “it’s the most wonderful time of the year” should have been sung when those green and yellow cartons start showing up in the milk coolers at the grocery store (and I hadn’t even discovered RUM yet…)  

And then this happened: an explosion at an eggnog factory. We were a couple of years into our discovery of real food vs chemical food at the time and this explosion shook my confidence in, and seasonal cravings for, eggnog to its  very foundations. I was pretty sure that I didn’t want to drink something whose ingredients could explode a factory. 

So, last Christmas I made my own. With my own eggs (I’ve been told I need to stop saying “my own eggs” and start saying, “eggs from our farm,” or “eggs from our chickens”). It was really fun and delicious and satisfying. I used Jamie Oliver’s recipe for The Best Eggnog in the World. And it was. 

This year, I made it again, but two things have changed… 

1. We have a milk cow.

2. We have an ice cream maker.

And so as I made the ice cream this year, “with eggs and milk from our farm,” I noticed that this recipe is only a hop, skip, and a jump (or more specifically cinnamon, cloves, and nutmeg) from the recipe I use to make our vanilla ice cream. 

So, naturally, I combined the two and dicovered a way to justify eating non-explosive eggnog all year round. 

Here’s the recipe, it is a blending of the aforementioned eggnog recipe from Jamie Oliver, and the rich vanilla ice cream recipe provided with my Cuisinart Ice Cream maker. The only thing it will blow up is your mind (and perhaps your adipose tissue).

Eggnog Ice Cream

4 cups jersey milk (or, if you don’t have a cow, 3 cups of whole milk and increase the whipping cream to 2 cups)

1 cup heavy or whipping cream (obviously not whipped)

3 cinnamon sticks (powdered cinnamon leaves eggnog with a gritty texture, but it is an alright substitute to use in the ice cream)

2 tbsp vanilla extract

1 tsp nutmeg 

1/2 tsp cloves

6 egg yolks (save the whites to make these)

1 cup white sugar 

3/4 cup run or bourbon

While heating the milk and cream on the stovetop, add in the cinnamon, nutmeg, and cloves. Bring the mixture to a really light boil, stir regularly to keep the skin from forming on top and to keep the milk from sticking to the bottom of the pot.

While the milk is heating, mix the egg yolks, vanilla, and sugar together, with about half of the rum. You don’t have to use rum. But then you also don’t have to enjoy your eggnog ice cream. Slowly add the heated milk to the egg mixture, stirring as you go. I think that between the heated milk and the rum the raw eggs should be rendered harmless, if that is a concern to you. This is not a guarantee, as I don’t know for sure. But we haven’t had any trouble. Now add the rest of the rum. Really, you can do the rum however you want, I don’t think it’ll make any difference. 

Let the whole thing cool either in the fridge or ouside in the safety of your cold BBQ like I did. Don’t want the pets getting into the spiked eggnog.

After it is cooled throw it in your ice cream maker and let it take it from there. Enjoy.

