One of my favorite perks of having a milk cow, especially a cream-rich Jersey, is the ability to make our own ice cream. Whenever we feel like it.
Dani bought me an ice cream maker for my birthday last year, and as I am nearing the one year mark of being an ice-creamist (perhaps “icer-of-cream,” or “creator of delight,”) I am starting to try to figure out my own recipes. This one is inspired by Thanksgiving weekend, which, as we all know, is brought to you by the letter “Pumpkin,” and the number, “way too much.” All that pumpkin all at once, and what do you do with it all?
Well, I made ice cream…

2 cups of cream
2 cups of whole milk
2 cups of cooked or canned pumpkin
1/3 cup of brown sugar
1/3 cup of white sugar
drizzle of maple syrup
1 TBSP cinnamon
1/2 tsp nutmeg
1/2 tsp cloves
1/2 tsp ginger
1/2 tsp salt
2 tsp molasses
1 TBSP vanilla

Put it all in a blender/other mixing device until well mixed and smooth. Cool it in the fridge for an hour or two if your pumpkin is still hot or your milk is so fresh that it is still warm. If everything came out of the fridge then your mixture should be cool enough to go right into your ice cream maker.

Top with whipped cream, if you want dairy overload. Or, put it in a crust while its still a little soft and then freeze it for a real pumpkin ice cream pie. We just ate ours with bowls and spoons.

Enjoy.

